Awards of Excellence

Lynn Hiltquist2015 Awards of Excellence – Individual category winner is Lynn Hultquist.

Lynn Hultquist is an arborist and horticulturist, Lynn helped establish the Topeka Tree Team, an all-volunteer community beautification service organization. Lynn also coordinated a partnership between dedicated stakeholders in the public and private sectors in order to provide free aesthetic improvements all across Topeka.



CASA of Shawnee County2015 Awards of Excellence – Non-profit category winner is CASA of Shawnee County.

Every day a child in our community experiences abuse, neglect or tragic loss. CASA helps to build up these special children and make Shawnee County a better place to live for all children. CASA, or Court Appointed Special Advocates, consist of a strong network of trained volunteers committed to advocating for every child or sibling group thrust into the court system. 


Advisor Excel2015 Awards of Excellence – Business category winner is Advisors Excel.

Advisors Excel partners with independent insurance producers and financial advisors across the country to improve services and the customer experience.  Advisors Excel is not only generous with their monetary giving for various philanthropic events in our community; they have created a culture in which employees are encouraged to regularly volunteer their time for charitable agencies and events throughout the year.  This year Advisors Excel partnered with numerous organizations in order to give back to the community


Muncipal2015 Awards of Excellence – Government Agency category winner is Topeka Municipal Court.

The mission of the alternative sentencing court is to create an environment in which defendants with mental health needs are matched with appropriate services to enhance the defendant’s success while simultaneously reducing recidivism and creating a safer community. This specialized program was designed to address the unique needs of defendants who suffer from severe and persistent mental illness and are charged with violations of City of Topeka criminal ordinances.


The Villiges 22015 Awards of Excellence – Longstanding Community Organization* category winner is          The Villages

The Villages, formed by Dr. Karl Menninger, provides stable, emotionally supportive homes for children and youth in need; these homes function as a family-style setting rather than an institution or orphanage. At any given time about 70 young people reside in one of the Villages Homes in either Topeka or Lawrence. For over 50 years, The Villages have provided young people throughout Kansas and the Mid-west with the same opportunities every child deserves.

* This is a special, one time, category celebrates CRC’s 90 years by recognizing an organization who has been making a difference in our community for 50 years or more.

Individual Award Winners:

2014  Gary Doyle, Harvesters 
2013  Justyn Hosman, Topeka Rescue Mission
2012  Connie Sanchez, YMCA Safe Visit
2011  Commissioner Shelly Buhler & Councilman Bob Archer
2010  Sally Zellers, Safe Streets Coalition

Nonprofit Award Winners:

2014 Junior League of Topeka & their Diaper Depot 
2013 Harvesters
2012 Boys & Girls Club of Topeka
2011 Marian Clinic
2010 Heartland Visioning

Business Award Winners:

2014 Walgreen’s Drug Store #03772 
2013 Westar Energy
2012 Robuck Jewelers
2011 Performance Tire and Wheel 
2010 WIBW-TV

Government Agency Award Winners: 

2014 Veterans Administration / Life Enrichment Center 
2013 Topeka Metropolitan Transit Authority
2012 Topeka & Shawnee County Public Library
2011 USD 501 Topeka Public Schools
2010 Topeka Police Department’s Community Policing Unit